Apply Now: 2014 AWARD Fellowship calls


AWARD (African Women in Agricultural Research and Development) is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills through tailored fellowships. AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.


Women agricultural scientists who:

Are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda or Zambia
Have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree in any of the following disciplines:

Agricultural Economics or Agricultural Engineering
Animal and Livestock Sciences
Aquatic Resources and Fisheries
Biodiversity Conservation
Crop Science
Extension Education
Food Science and Nutrition
Forestry and Agroforestry
Molecular Biology
Natural Resources Management
Plant/Animal Virology
Soil Science
Veterinary Sciences
Water and Irrigation Management

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women. There is no age limit for candidates.

Applications and Deadline

You can download the application form (PDF).
You can also download the Application Guidelines Here

Applicants have until August 9, 2013 to apply for an AWARD Fellowship.

Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted. Winners will be notified in December 2013.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of the three five-day AWARD Mentoring Orientation Workshops to be held in February/March in Kenya. Dates to be announced.

AWARD is generously supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, United States Agency for International Development, Agropolis Fondation, and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa.

AWARD is a preferred service provider of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), and is hosted by the CGIAR’s World Agroforestry Centre.

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)
Hosted by the World Agroforestry Centre
United Nations Avenue, Gigiri
P.O. Box 30677-00100, Nairobi, Kenya


For more information, visit the AWARD Fellowship WebsiteHere

© 2013, GeneAfrique. All rights reserved.

You Might Also Like